HABERSHAM COUNTY BOARD OF COMMISSIONERS DEPARTMENTAL BUDGET REVIEW MEETING 9:30 P.M., WEDNESDAY, MARCH 27, 2024 HABERSHAM COUNTY ADMINISTRATIVE BUILDING COMMISSION CONFERENCE ROOM 130 JACOB'S WAY, CLARKESVILLE, GA 30523

A quorum of the Habersham County Board of Commissioners attended departmental budget review meetings that occurred on Wednesday, March 27, 2024. These meetings were publicly advertised as potentially having a quorum of Commissioners in attendance and scheduled to be held from 9:30 a.m. to approximately 4:00 p.m. in the Commission Conference Room of the Habersham County Courthouse located at 130 Jacob's Way, Clarkesville, GA 30523.

Present at the start of the meeting was Vice Chairman Bruce Harkness, Commissioner Bruce Palmer, Commissioner Jimmy Tench, County Manager Alicia Vaughn, Finance Director Tim Sims, Financial Administrator Kiani Holden, County Clerk Brandalin Carnes, staff, members of the media and the public.

Absent at the start of the meeting was Chairman Ty Akins and Commissioner Dustin Mealor.

Various elected officials and county staff were present throughout the day as scheduled below to present their budgets on behalf of their respective offices and department.

CALL TO ORDER

Vice Chairman Bruce Harkness called the meeting to order at 9:32 a.m.

Vice Chairman Bruce Harkness left the meeting at 10:13 a.m. There was no longer a quorum as only Commissioner Jimmy Tench and Commissioner Bruce Palmer remained.

PRESENTATIONS

- 1. Solicitor- (Solicitor Jessica Martin)
- 2. Magistrate Court- (Judge Tricia Hise)
- 3. Clerk of Court- (Clerk of Court David Wall)
- 4. Elections & Registration- (Elections Supervisor/Chief Registrar Laurel Ellison)

Vice Chairman Bruce Harkness left the meeting at 10:13 a.m. There was no longer a quorum as only Commissioner Jimmy Tench and Commissioner Bruce Palmer remained.

- 5. Planning- (Director Mike Beecham)
- 6. Extension Services- (County Extension Coordinator Steven Patrick)
- 7. Accountability Courts- (Director Rachel Walker and Associate Director Lupe Banda)
- 8. Tax Assessors Office- (Chief Appraiser Joan Church and Deputy Chief Appraiser Amy Garmon)

There were no presentations between 11:53 a.m. and 12:54 p.m. due to lunch.

- 9. Animal Control- (Director Madi Nix)
- 10. Emergency Mgmt. & E911- (Director Lynn Smith)
- 11. County Commissioners/Clerk- (County Clerk Brandalin Carnes)
- 12. Public Information Office- (*Public Information Officer Rob Moore*)
- 13. County Manager- (Deputy Clerk / Administrative Assistant Patti McLarty)
- 14. Human Resources- (Director Ann Cain)
- 15. Finance & Countywide- (Director Tim Sims & Financial Administrator Kiani Holden)
- 16. Soque River Watershed Association- (Board President Brad Coppedge)

17. Habersham Co Health Dept- (Public Health District 2 Administrator Lisa Hocker, County Nurse Manager Jami Bolman and County Environmental Health Manager Marcus Hall)

ADJOURN

There was not a quorum of the Commissioners at the end of the meeting as only Commissioner Jimmy Tench and Commissioner Bruce Palmer were present. Commissioner Palmer adjourned the meeting at 2:52 p.m.

The purpose of these meetings was informative in nature to allow department heads and elected officials to explain their budget requests with the Finance Department, County Manager and Commissioners in attendance. There were no votes or official actions taken at this meeting regarding the budget.

	Respectfully submitted,
By:	Commission Chairman Ty Akins
Attest:	County Clerk Brandalin Carnes